Learning zone logo
Skip to content
Home     Animals     Fossils     Insects     Minerals     Rocks     Funstuff


The word cephalopod sounds complicated but you probably know what one is.

Ammonite Cephalopods that you might recognise today include the octopus, cuttlefish and squid. They live in the sea, and are thought to be the most advanced of all the invertebrates.

Cephalopods are also important fossils, and the three groups we deal with here are the ammonites, the nautiloids and the belemnites.

The mollusc wheel Find out about fossil molluscs Find out about fossil gastropods Find out about fossil bivalves Find out about fossil cephalopods Find out about ammonites Find out about fossil nautiloids Find out about belemnites
The molluscs are split into different groups - the gastropods, bivalves and cephalopods. The cephalopods are also split into three groups.


If you read these pages you should become an expert invertebrate identifier!
The major groups are listed below - select a link to learn more about this type of fossil.

Sponges Corals
Molluscs Brachiopods
Arthropods Graptolites
Echinoderms Return to the wheel

If you know it all already, return to the Homepage or test yourself with our Quiz!